Skip to content

June 20, 2015 – Dear Ranger Carolina

June 21, 2015

Dear Ranger Carolina,I want to come to Yellowstone for vacation but my kids want to go to the beach. What should I do?

Sincerely,

Wondering in Weddington

journaling on the beach

Journaling on the shores of Yellowstone Lake

Dear Wondering,

Yellowstone may be known for its geysers, hot springs, and wildlife, but Yellowstone also has 141 miles of shoreline along Yellowstone Lake. If you stay at the Lake Hotel you can walk the Pelican Creek Trail to access a 1/2 mile of sandy beach. There may not be waves and boogie boards but you just might find a Bison carcass to explore!

Happy travels!

Carolina on my mind
Dear Ranger Carolina,

I am planning on visiting West Thumb and its wonderful hydrothermal features, including the Blue Bell Pool. Should I bring my swim suit and soak in this natural hot tub

Sincerely,

Lovely Lady in LincolnLincoln

Bluebell Pool- NO SWIMMING ALLOWED!

Bluebell Pool- NO SWIMMING ALLOWED!

Dear Lovely,

Yellowstone has over 10,000 thermal features which are beautiful and tempting. But that tropical blue that you see in the water occurs because the water is so close to boiling, no microorganisms can grow. The park ranger would probably cite you, if the scalding water did not kill you.

Happy travels!

Carolina on my mind
Dear Ranger Carolina,

Birdwatching is something I have always wanted to do, but I am concerned. What do I do if I encounter the Killdeer. Certainly with such a name, this must be a dangerous and bloodthirsty avian

Sincerely,

Petrified in Pamlico
Dear Petrified,

While Killdeer are territorial, they pose no danger to you or any other bird watchers. The name “killdeer” comes from their call. But be alert to the call of the Grouse, because he sounds a lot like a moose!

Happy travels!

Carolina on my mind
Dear Ranger Carolina,

While admiring the wildlife in Yellowstone, I have noticed how the Elk and Bison seem so docile. I want to take a selfie with one of these creatures. They are both so beautiful, which one should I choose?

Sincerely,

Picture Perfect on Penny Road
Dear Picture Perfect,

That “picture perfect” photo that you are after just might be your autopsy photo! A good rule of thumb is to remain 25 yards away from grazing anImals (bison, elk, deer) and 100 yards away from predatory animals (wolves and bears). If an animal changes its behavior due to your presence, they could perceive you as a threat and charge!

Happy travels!

Carolina on my mind

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

