Skip to content

Yellowstone Institute 2015 – Orientation Meeting!

May 6, 2015

I just met all of the amazing educators that are going on the Yellowstone trip!  Such a diverse group of folks!  We started learning about the animals of Yellowstone including wolves, elk, and moose. I am so excited about everything that I’m going to experience in a few weeks.  Just the other day there was a story in the news about the magma expanse under the Yellowstone caldera is much bigger than previously thought, and it just hit me – I’m going to spend over a week seeing all sorts of amazing things while walking around in a supervolcano!  I’ve already purchased some new hiking shoes, so I’ll be spending the next few weeks breaking them in.  So much to do before we depart – teaching, grading, building up my hiking endurance, packing.  Can’t wait to go!

putting together life-sized animal puzzles

We built life-sized puzzles of moose, elk, grizzly bear, and bison to learn just how big they really are!

by Kelly Allen

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan Fussell permalink
    May 7, 2015 8:08 pm

    It was such a fun and informative day. Can’t wait to go to Yellowstone!!!!

    • Tanya permalink
      May 17, 2015 9:08 pm

      It was truly a good day. I was amazed at how much we all had in common outside the fact that we are all educators. I am so excited about going and spending time with an awesome group.

  2. Lucy Grisf permalink
    June 21, 2015 11:36 am

    Megan. Send me the link to your posts! I want to read about your adventure!

Leave a Reply

